Temptation, temptation ...which Lunt to move up a level?

Use this section to discuss "standard" Baader/Coronado/ Lunt SolarView/ Daystar, etc… filters, cameras and scopes. No mods, just questions/ answers and reviews.
grimble_cornet
Way More Fun to Share It!!

Temptation, temptation ...which Lunt to move up a level?

Post by grimble_cornet »

I have been imaging in Ha with a SolarMax 40 for a few years now. After a few months of lurking around, and occasionally posting to, Solarchat I have learned a lot. Mark, Alexandra, Swisswalter, Pedro and many others have been generous with their advice and feedback, my images have improved greatly and I have for some time been thinking that I was getting close to what was possible with the gear I have.
Ha Solar Disc 2014 0612 1137 ut.jpg
Ha Sun 2014 0710 1006 ut.jpg
Typical SolarMax40 full disks combining single panel disc + prom shots
Ha Sun 2014 0714 1102 ut.jpg
SolarMax ZWO ASI120MM with proms.jpg
These are some of the better images I have produced with the SolarMax40 plus x2 Barlow

Last week a new member of my astronomy club realised that I was into solar imaging and offered to lend me an old Lunt 60 plus DS unit he had bought 'on impulse' when in the USA a few years back.
I was lucky to get a couple of very good sunny days and managed to capture a few pleasing images. The Lunt is quite different to the SolarMax in terms of capture and processing requirements but I think I made enough progress to catch a glimpse of what is possible with this scope.

I have nothing else to compare my results with so......... tell me what you think. Do they represent a fair picture of what might be expected from this scope in 'reasonable' seeing?
Lunt 60 SS 2 panel disc.jpg
Lunt 60 combination 2014 0722 1437 ut.jpg
Lunt 60 2014 0718 1427 ut.jpg
Lunt 60 SS ZWO ASI120MM Proms inverted 22nd July 2014 1354 ut.jpg
Lunt 60 SS ZWO ASI120MM Proms inverted 22nd July 2014 1354 ut.jpg (135.58 KiB) Viewed 4417 times