Missing filter in Coronado Solarmax II 90?

Use this section to discuss "standard" Baader/Coronado/ Lunt SolarView/ Daystar, etc… filters, cameras and scopes. No mods, just questions/ answers and reviews.
RTJoe
Oh, I get it now!
Oh, I get it now!

Missing filter in Coronado Solarmax II 90?

Post by RTJoe »

Hello!

Before starting with my question, I would like to introduce myself. As Walter has already noticed (thank you for the friendly welcome :D ), I'm a new member on this site. Since some months I was already following the discussions and have learned a lot (special thanks for the "flat bag" hint).

My name is Joachim, I'm a software engineer living near Stuttgart, Germany. My solar equipment are two H-Alpha scopes (Solarmax II 90, Solarmax II 60) and some Baader white light filters. Although I like visual observation, my latest toy is the ASI174.

Now to my question: Yesterday I received and installed a MoonLite focuser for my Solarmax II 90 (report will follow). According to the detailed description, I should unthread a filter lens from the focuser's drawtube and install it in the provided MoonLite adapter (see pictures from the installation manual).
From MoonLite installation manual, part 1
From MoonLite installation manual, part 1
SolMax01.jpg (44.82 KiB) Viewed 2655 times
From MoonLite installation manual, part 2
From MoonLite installation manual, part 2
SolMax02.jpg (42.95 KiB) Viewed 2655 times
But inside my helical focuser there isn't anything like a filter. There is nothing (besides tube parts) between OTA and blocking filter, the silvery part on the pictures is missing. Here is the picture of my disassembled focuser:
My Solarmax II disassambled
My Solarmax II disassambled
What kind of filter should it be? Is it really missing or was there a design change?

Thanks in advance,
Joachim

Montana
Librarian
Librarian

Re: Missing filter in Coronado Solarmax II 90?

Post by Montana »

A very warm welcome :hamster: :hamster: :hamster: