Not uniform contrast with my Daystar Quark

Use this section to discuss "standard" Baader/Coronado/ Lunt SolarView/ Daystar, etc… filters, cameras and scopes. No mods, just questions/ answers and reviews.
Roman
The Sun?
The Sun?

Not uniform contrast with my Daystar Quark

Post by Roman »

Hello all,

I am newbie here and also in solar imaging. I have Daystar Quark few weeks and for now I'm using it with GSO Newton 150/750mm (@100mm off axis mask) for testing. Today morning I tried it with small refractor SW 80/400mm. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong, but I still loosing contrast in the centre of the field. Its most visible on prominences. At the upper left corner they are pretty nice and contrasty, but if I move them to the centre of the field, they loose contrast and become almost invisible. I tried turn the tuning knob, but this is the best I can get. And it doesnt help with contrast in the middle of the field.

As far as I red this forum I assume I have a bad copy. I just want to know opinion of someone with more knowledge than me :).

My temporary setup is: Newton 150/750mm (@100/750mm) + 1.25" Baader H alpha 7nm + Daystar Quark + ZWO ASI 1600 mono.
Today's morning setup: SW 80/400 + 1.25" Baader H alpha 7nm + Daystar Quark + ZWO ASI 1600 mono

There are two images from today morning for comparison. No flats, no tilt (Newton rings ... I know).

Upper left corner:

Center:

Some images I took as a test images:

solarchat
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Not uniform contrast with my Daystar Quark

Post by solarchat »

Hey Roman,
Welcome to our little forum. We have a lot of pros here and Im sure someone will help you out. Im an air spaced etalon man myself so I don't know.

Stephen W. Ramsden
Atlanta, GA USA
Founder/Director Charlie Bates Solar Astronomy Project
http://www.solarastronomy.org
marktownley
Librarian
Librarian

Post by marktownley »

Hi there and welcome to the forum!