H-alpha Zeiss APQ 130

Use this section to discuss "standard" Baader/Coronado/ Lunt SolarView/ Daystar, etc… filters, cameras and scopes. No mods, just questions/ answers and reviews.
Christopher
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

H-alpha Zeiss APQ 130

Post by Christopher »

Way back in 2007 while attending NEAF, I had the pleasure of looking through a Zeus APQ 130 that was set-up with a Coronado 90mm etalon. The view was unforgettable. At the time I owned a Solarmax 40 so I had some perspective on the h-alpha solar observing experience. Additionally, there were other comparable scopes there (large APs and the like). The Zeiss was simply the standout. I subsequently was both determined and fortunate enough to acquire an APQ 130 of my own. That scope rekindled my enthusiasm for visual astronomy and I've never looked back. I've often thought about setting it up for h-alpha solar viewing. Needless to say, much has changed since 2007 in the world of h-alpha solar. My question is what sort of set-up would you recommend in conjunction with this scope (low end $ to high end $$$)? Is there a disadvantage to using a fluorite lens to view light in h-alpha?

Thanks for your interest in my questions.

Christopher

Christopher

"Our imagination is stretched to the utmost, not, as in fiction, to imagine things which are not really there, but just to comprehend those things which 'are' there.". -Feynman
Montana
Librarian
Librarian

Re: H-alpha Zeiss APQ 130

Post by Montana »

Hello Christopher, if your telescope is anything like my TEC140 then I recommend a Solarscope front mounted etalon for the best quality (expensive though). I tried a rear mounted Quark and the difference was night and day. Probably a Solar Spectrum rear mounted would be a lot better than the Quark, but for visual I would have the Solarscope any day. There are plenty of choices though, the Lunt are good, even a PST modification could work for you. The decision is yours really.
Alexandra

Christopher
Im an EXPERT!