Baader Triband SCT

Use this section to discuss "standard" Baader/Coronado/ Lunt SolarView/ Daystar, etc… filters, cameras and scopes. No mods, just questions/ answers and reviews.
bart1805
Ohhhhhh My!
Ohhhhhh My!

Baader Triband SCT

Post by bart1805 » Sun May 06, 2018 5:38 pm

Baader announced the prices of their Triband SCT's yesterday.
3.275 euro's for the 8 inch version.
Clear skies, Bart.

https://www.baader-planetarium.com/en/t ... p-sky.html

TheSkyBurner
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Re: Baader Triband SCT

Post by TheSkyBurner » Sun May 06, 2018 9:55 pm

neat but way too much money for what it is.

Merlin66
Librarian
Librarian

Post by Merlin66 » Mon May 07, 2018 12:09 am

Skyburner,
What cheaper full aperture multi-wavelength filters have you come across?
These filters are very effective.
"Astronomical Spectroscopy - The Final Frontier" - to boldly go where few amateurs have gone before
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/ast ... scopy/info
"Astronomical Spectroscopy for Amateurs" and
"Imaging Sunlight - using a digital spectroheliograph" - Springer

TheSkyBurner
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Post by TheSkyBurner » Mon May 07, 2018 8:16 am

Merlin. Just order direct from schott glass co. They make upto 300mm to your spec.

TheSkyBurner
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Post by TheSkyBurner » Mon May 07, 2018 8:32 am

Oh wow, they are up to 400mm custom sizes now, thats new!
https://www.us.schott.com/advanced_opti ... index.html

christian viladrich
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Post by christian viladrich » Mon May 07, 2018 4:44 pm

Skyburner, I suggest you ask Schott a quote for one 220 mm ERF lambda/4 P-V.
Once you have the answer, you might have a different appreciation ;-)
Christian Viladrich
Co-author of "Astronomie Planétaire"
http://www.astroplanetes.com/

TheSkyBurner
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Post by TheSkyBurner » Mon May 07, 2018 7:39 pm

I already know the answer :) but I cannot share it due to confidentiality agreement.

mdwmark
Ohhhhhh My!