Grasshopper3 how to ??

Use this section to discuss "standard" Baader/Coronado/ Lunt SolarView/ Daystar, etc… filters, cameras and scopes. No mods, just questions/ answers and reviews.
Post Reply
axlefoley
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!
Posts: 284
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 3:22 am
Location: Townsville Australia

Grasshopper3 how to ??

Post by axlefoley » Sat Sep 22, 2018 10:49 am

Hey guys I have had a Grasshopper3 2.8 MP Mono USB3 Vision for quite a while and never used it, now that I’m retired I want to learn how to use it.
I have been able to connect it up and get a live view image through a small scope on some trees but that’s the limit of my capabilities.
Are there any utube videos on how to use it, I have googled how to sst it up but found nothing of any use.
Any advise would be welcome.

Al
Alan

User avatar
GreatAttractor
Almost There...
Almost There...
Posts: 584
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 1:04 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Grasshopper3 how to ??

Post by GreatAttractor » Sun Sep 23, 2018 11:20 am

You need something like this: Baader C-Mount/1.25" adapter, then you can plop the camera into any telescope. FireCapture should work fine for video acquisition.
My software:
Stackistry — an open-source cross-platform image stacker
ImPPG — stack post-processing and animation alignment
My images

SW Mak-Cass 127, ATM Hα scope (D=90 mm, LS50 etalon), Lunt LS50THa, ATM SSM, ATM Newt 300/1500 mm, PGR Chameleon 3 mono (ICX445)

axlefoley
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!
Posts: 284
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 3:22 am
Location: Townsville Australia

Re: Grasshopper3 how to ??

Post by axlefoley » Mon Sep 24, 2018 2:24 am

You may have miss read my post I have it all mounted on a solar scope and I can get live view of the sun or anything I point it at when mounted on a normal scope but I don’t know how to set the correct camera settings then take a photo and save it.

Al
Alan

User avatar
marktownley
Librarian
Librarian
Posts: 24342
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 5:27 pm
Location: Brierley Hills, UK
Contact:

Re: Grasshopper3 how to ??

Post by marktownley » Mon Sep 24, 2018 4:49 am

what capture software are you using Alan?
Image
http://brierleyhillsolar.blogspot.co.uk/
Solar images, a collection of all the most up to date live solar data on the web, imaging & processing tutorials - please take a look!

axlefoley
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!
Posts: 284
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 3:22 am
Location: Townsville Australia

Re: Grasshopper3 how to ??

Post by axlefoley » Mon Sep 24, 2018 5:45 am

Thanks Mark I’m using Fly Capture 2 with Windows 8.

Alan
Alan

User avatar
marktownley
Librarian
Librarian
Posts: 24342
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 5:27 pm
Location: Brierley Hills, UK
Contact:

Re: Grasshopper3 how to ??

Post by marktownley » Mon Sep 24, 2018 6:56 am

Use firecapture mate, flycapture is awful!
Image
http://brierleyhillsolar.blogspot.co.uk/
Solar images, a collection of all the most up to date live solar data on the web, imaging & processing tutorials - please take a look!

axlefoley
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!
Posts: 284
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 3:22 am
Location: Townsville Australia

Re: Grasshopper3 how to ??

Post by axlefoley » Mon Sep 24, 2018 7:54 am

Thanks Mark I’ll try that in the next few days.

Al
Alan

User avatar
Montana
Way More Fun to Share It!!
Way More Fun to Share It!!
Posts: 19657
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 5:25 pm
Location: Cheshire, UK

Re: Grasshopper3 how to ??

Post by Montana » Mon Sep 24, 2018 11:28 am

I agree with Mark, you won't get anywhere with Flycapture. You just need to open it once in Flycapture to set the drivers then forget about it.

Alexandra

axlefoley
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!
Posts: 284
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 3:22 am
Location: Townsville Australia

Re: Grasshopper3 how to ??

Post by axlefoley » Sat Sep 29, 2018 6:21 am

Ok got FireCapture installed now I’ve got a small issue with the lap top I need to get fixed then I should be up and away.

Al
Alan

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest