New Quark

Use this section to discuss "standard" Baader/Coronado/ Lunt SolarView/ Daystar, etc… filters, cameras and scopes. No mods, just questions/ answers and reviews.
george9
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

New Quark

Post by george9 »

I just had to report today's view through my new classic Quark H-alpha chromosphere. I loved my old Quark and used it for many years, but one day recently I heard a new rattling inside and noticed it didn't come to temperature or at least took a long time. I sent it to DayStar thinking they could tighten something, but they sent me what I assume is a replacement. Wow. I had looked through it in my 92mm f/7 and it seemed fine. But today for the first time I looked through my 155mm f/7 and got lucky on seeing. Wonderful contrast on the disk, bright spicules and (small) proms, and even across the field. I actually didn't even notice where the sweet spot is (I am sure there must be one, but that I didn't notice it is a good sign), and it is certainly uniform. That small filament today was obvious, and the disk was full of mottling. Yes, still less contrast than my LS80 DSII, but getting close. And so bright at high power. An amazing instrument.

With the right equipment, there is no need for a solar minimum to slow you down.

George

moshc
The Sun?
The Sun?

Re: New Quark

Post by moshc »

Hi George,

Great report thanks for sharing! Do you think this replacement Quark is much better than the older one in bandwidth or was it mostly the seeing?

Do you think the contrast is closer to a single stack view or a DS view? I think I have a pretty good Quark (I agree, amazing instrument) and wondering if I should also get a dedicated scope since I can't get full disc views at all. But I'm also curious about a good DS view too.

Thanks!

marktownley
Librarian
Librarian

Post by marktownley »