Solarscope SF70DS incoming

Use this section to discuss "standard" Baader/Coronado/ Lunt SolarView/ Daystar, etc… filters, cameras and scopes. No mods, just questions/ answers and reviews.
Highbury Mark
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Solarscope SF70DS incoming

Post by Highbury Mark »

I ordered the Solarscope 70DS filter package a few weeks ago - and it should be with me in a week or two, so thought I’d start a thread as there’s not much information out there on this intriguing company and their products - though I was helped in my decision by searching the archives of Solarchat, and in particular by Alexandra’s amazing images using both 70mm and 100mm filters.

My solar ha experience so far is limited to two double stacked Lunts (50 and 60), and a Quark which I use with a 4” refractor. I was close to buying a Lunt LS80DS, and then a Solar Spectrum 0.3A, but when I found out that the price of the SF70DS was only a little more here in the U.K. than the Lunt LS80 (DS, FT, B1800), I didn’t hesitate - I’d always thought that a Solarscope set up was beyond my means. The 70mm filters also pair nicely with my TV85.

As many of you will know, the firm was bought a couple of years ago. It’s been a pleasure to deal with the new owner, Helmut Kessler, who has kept me informed about the etalons as they’ve been assembled. Today he emailed saying: “I’m waiting for a day to field test the instrument, to make sure the filters are all adjusted properly, especially the second blocking filter to use with the double stack unit. As all combinations are slightly different (we specify <0.7A but our etalons are more like <0.5-0.6A) this is done specifically for each instrument. So the second blocking filter is adjusted in the field.” Can’t ask for better pre-delivery service!