Baader Coronagraph

Use this section to discuss "standard" Baader/Coronado/ Lunt SolarView/ Daystar, etc… filters, cameras and scopes. No mods, just questions/ answers and reviews.
george9
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Baader Coronagraph

Post by george9 »

I acquired a Baader Coronagraph for fun, plus a matching Celestron (Vixen) 80mm refractor. The H-alpha filter is deteriorating, and the price reflected that.

Normally when a filter deteriorates it gets darker, not lighter, so it is probably safe. But I was thinking of putting a Beloptic UV-IR KG3 cut filter in the train just to be sure (I already know the visible light is not too bright).

I noticed the color of the Sun was pink instead of red, and my hand spectrograph shows spikes at both H-alpha and somewhere in green. Maybe magnesium? Is that what the original Baader filters did, or is this just a deterioration?

Alexandra, I know you replaced your filter, but was yours pink before you replaced it? Alex, yours may be original.

I was thinking of using my Prom15T 2A H-alpha prom filter, but I would have to duplicate the ERF to make it safe. I am guessing I need RG630 and KG3, but I really don't want to guess. For imaging it would be fine, but I am conservative on visual. I do have an Edmunds 3mm thick 1" RG630 and a 2" Beloptic KG3 (Oliver is out of 1.25" right now).

(By the way be careful. This group is savvy but it would be easy to take something like a Baader Red 610nm longpass filter thinking it will work similar to an RG610 or RG630 and not realize that it transmits a blinding amount of green light. Also Wratten 25.)

George

Montana
Librarian
Librarian

Re: Baader Coronagraph

Post by Montana »