SCT Celestron 9.25 for Solar Imaging

Use this section to discuss "standard" Baader/Coronado/ Lunt SolarView/ Daystar, etc… filters, cameras and scopes. No mods, just questions/ answers and reviews.
fmiscio
The Sun?
The Sun?

SCT Celestron 9.25 for Solar Imaging

Post by fmiscio »

I am new to Solar Imaging, and I would like to use my old Celestron 9.25. I have my eyes on an Off axis ERF, a quark Combo and a Baader Planetarioum TZ4. Is this configuration acceptable?

Thank you for your help :bow

marktownley
Librarian
Librarian

Re: SCT Celestron 9.25 for Solar Imaging

Post by marktownley »

Hi there and welcome to the forum.

Your c9 is f10 already, stopping it down is going to make it closer to f20/f30, so using the TZ4 in addition would put it around f80/f120, which, is way too high. Is the c9 your only scope or do you have a smaller refractor?

http://brierleyhillsolar.blogspot.co.uk/
Solar images, a collection of all the most up to date live solar data on the web, imaging & processing tutorials - please take a look!
fmiscio
The Sun?
The Sun?

Post by fmiscio »

Thank you for the reply. Yes I have a RedCat 51 250mm F 4.9, but I use it mainly for wide field astrophotography.

marktownley
Librarian
Librarian

Post by marktownley »

If you are going to stop the SCT down (with off axis ERF) then you will be running around 60-70mm aperture I guess? If this is the case then you would not need the TZ4.

Solar images, a collection of all the most up to date live solar data on the web, imaging & processing tutorials - please take a look!
fmiscio
The Sun?
The Sun?

Post by fmiscio »

I hope you can help me here.
I have a celestron 9.25 with an off axis ERF and a quark combo HA,;trying to take some images with a ZWO 174.
No matter what I do I fail to have a decent focus. I assume is the backend focus the issue.
An Celestron 9.25 has a back focus of 139 mm and the Quark adds 99mm is that correct?