Beginner Ha - PST or Lunt 50 or Daystar Quark with dedicated scope

Use this section to discuss "standard" Baader/Coronado/ Lunt SolarView/ Daystar, etc… filters, cameras and scopes. No mods, just questions/ answers and reviews.
sdeep
The Sun?
The Sun?

Beginner Ha - PST or Lunt 50 or Daystar Quark with dedicated scope

Post by sdeep »

I have read a lot of forum posts here, on Star Gazers Lounge and on Cloudy Nights.
I still have no clue what I should get.

Experience - Complete beginner, I have Celestron Binoculars and Skywatcher-127 with a Go To Syncscan. These are just used casually.
Based in Scotland.
I have used a Coronado PST a few years ago and really liked it, I want to get into Hydrogen Alpha viewing only.
I have £1300 budgeted, this will be my only Solar scope, I will not be upgrading or looking to spend another £1300 or more in addition later, I have other expensive hobbies.

Do I get:
1. Coronado PST at £800, see how I get on, spend the rest on double stack later.
2. Lunt 50 B600 at £1300, possibly get a Lunt zoom eyepiece later. Use 25mm eyepiece for now.
3. 100mm? refractor and a Daystar Quark at a similar £1300

I have looked into used PST or Lunt 60 etc but they seem to come up rarely enough, I'd rather just buy the above new.

Reading the forums, the posts tend to go off topic around this type of question hence why I still don't know what to get and my only post here, a dedicated forum!
Thanks for taking the time to help.

Montana
Librarian
Librarian

Re: Beginner Ha - PST or Lunt 50 or Daystar Quark with dedicated scope

Post by Montana »

Only because I love mine and I haven't used any of the others (apart from a Quark for three months and that was enough)

Coronado PST double stack any day :hamster: great for visual, easy set up, very quick and light and great for imaging too. Great all rounder :)

Alexandra

marktownley
Librarian
Librarian

Post by marktownley »

Welcome to the forum!

DS PST would be my advice.

Mark