Daystar Quantum tuning question

Use this section to discuss "standard" Baader/Coronado/ Lunt SolarView/ Daystar, etc… filters, cameras and scopes. No mods, just questions/ answers and reviews.
LTHB
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Daystar Quantum tuning question

Post by LTHB »

Yesterday I had an afternoon of clear sky, so I experimented with the settings of my new toy, a used Daystar Quantum 0.5A. (It's been sitting on my shelf for more than half a year, so the bad weather period coming with new gear is over...)

It takes quite a long time to reach working temperature after changing the wavelength setting, so I didn't manage as many test shots as I wanted to, but I got three for the display settings 656.28A, 656.29A and 656.30A:

As many Daystar users report that the Quantum's display settings are not necessarily reliable, I'd like to ask the experts here if one of these test shots looks close to or on band or, if not, how far off they are. (I used the same flat for all three images, which probably accounts in part for the uneven brightness. I normalized the histogram for all three images and applied the same sharpening settings.)

Thanks in advance! Kind regards,

Frank

christian viladrich
Way More Fun to Share It!!

Re: Daystar Quantum tuning question

Post by christian viladrich »

Hello Frank,
I am happy you finally had some good weather.
The DayStar is actually quite long to reach balance temperature. I have made temperature measurement on my Quantum 0.6A with an IR thermometer. It takes about 25 min to reach the reference temperature (58.3°C) starting from 21°C.
Looking at your three pictures, I would say the first is the closest to Ha. Then, as you go to the red, the spicules become darker and darker, which is the sign you are going away from Ha.
I suggest you try three images :
- first : 6522.8
- second : +0.2 A, allow 20 min stabilisation
- third : -0.2 A, allow 20 min stabilisation.