Question about Lunt Solar Wedge

Use this section to discuss "standard" Baader/Coronado/ Lunt SolarView/ Daystar, etc… filters, cameras and scopes. No mods, just questions/ answers and reviews.
Helimanb41

Question about Lunt Solar Wedge

Post by Helimanb41 »

Hello,
I have a question i hope can easily be answered before i purchase a Solar wedge. I have been observing the Sun for many yrs. with a baader solar film filter i made & i already own a Baader 1.25" Continuum filter that ive been using with it and my 1.25" eyepieces. My question is this: Im considering purchasing a Lunt Herschel wedge & i am using an 80mm APO as my Solar scope and what id like to know is, would it be of any visual gain to buy the 2" Lunt verses the smaller 1.25"& then use only my 1.25" eyepieces and my existing 1.25" Continuum filter in the 2" model? Or would I gain nothing with this setup since id be reducing down & just be better off buying the 1.25" wedge and sticking to all 1.25" filters and eyepieces?
Ive not seen this particular question asked before so im stumped.
Thanks in advance,
Dave

swisswalter
Way More Fun to Share It!!

Re: Question about Lunt Solar Wedge

Post by swisswalter »

Hi Dave

welcome to that wonderful place. I do not think that you are gaining anything visually while buying the 2" version. But I'm sure there will be more detailed answers to your question very soon

have fun

Only stardust in the wind, some fine and some less fine scopes, filters and adapters as well. Switzerland 47 N, 9 E, in the heart of EUROPE :)

from 7 am - 7 pm http://www.nanosys.ch

from 7.01 pm - 6.59 am http://www.wastronomiko.com some times vice versa ;)
Helimanb41

Post by Helimanb41 »