Plain glass filter

Use this section to discuss "standard" Baader/Coronado/ Lunt SolarView/ Daystar, etc… filters, cameras and scopes. No mods, just questions/ answers and reviews.
Robin
Almost There...
Almost There...

Plain glass filter

Post by Robin »

I have been trying to buy a 1.25 plain glass filter to use as a dust cover for my DMK camera but they are all out of stock in the uk. Is there any other filter I could use which would not effect my imaging, I have a box full to choose from

Lunt LS60THa / B1200 / LS60Fha / DMK51AOU2 / DMK21AOU2 / Revelation 6 & 8" RC / Opticon Minitower 11 & Startracker / Mad Red Setter and understanding Wife
Allcart
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Re: Plain glass filter

Post by Allcart »

I keep an IR/UV filter on mine Robin. I don't know if there is a better choice, but that is all I have.

Allan
brianb11213

Post by brianb11213 »

I keep an IR/UV filter on mine Robin. I don't know if there is a better choice, but that is all I have.
Should be OK for hydrogen alpha but a UV/IR blocker will kill CaK (not quite opaque but needs a major increase in exposure or gain).

Robin, I have a spare 1.25" plain glass "filter", drop me a PM if you need it.

Robin
Almost There...
Almost There...

Post by Robin »

Hi Brian
Many thanks, I don't think you can PM on Solarchat, I may be wrong
Robin

Lunt LS60THa / B1200 / LS60Fha / DMK51AOU2 / DMK21AOU2 / Revelation 6 & 8" RC / Opticon Minitower 11 & Startracker / Mad Red Setter and understanding Wife
solarchat
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by solarchat »

ya, I didnt install a PM mechanism because if its important enough to tell one person on the forum, its probably of interest to everyone..:) You can always email.

Stephen W. Ramsden
Atlanta, GA USA
Founder/Director Charlie Bates Solar Astronomy Project
http://www.solarastronomy.org
brianb11213

Post by brianb11213 »