How does GONG get disk and limb simultaneously?

this is the main message area for anything solar :)
Heliotown
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

How does GONG get disk and limb simultaneously?

Post by Heliotown »

I wonder how the online GONG h-alpha telescopes get the full disk and the limb view simultaneously?

Thomas

Spectral Joe
Ohhhhhh My!
Ohhhhhh My!

Re: How does GONG get disk and limb simultaneously?

Post by Spectral Joe »

Partly bandpass, partly processing. The GONG telescope filters are 0.4 Angstrom wide and the images are processed heavily before you see them. With narrower bandpasses you can see edge and disk details in one image. Another problem with many mass produced H alpha telescopes is continuum leakage, which reduces disk contrast further still. The GONG telescopes are engineered for performance, not a compromise of performance versus price, and have correspondingly better performance.

Observing the Sun with complex optical systems since 1966, and still haven't burned, melted or damaged anything.
Not blind yet, either!
Light pollution? I only observe the Sun, magnitude -26.74. Pollute that!
Montana
Librarian
Librarian

Post by Montana »

It looks like they do 2 exposures to me, then clip and paste them together, I could be very wrong though. It must be automatic software.

Alexandra

Heliotown
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Post by Heliotown »

Spetral Joe wrote: "
Partly bandpass, partly processing. The GONG telescope filters are 0.4 Angstrom wide and the images are processed heavily before you see them. With narrower bandpasses you can see edge and disk details in one image. Another problem with many mass produced H alpha telescopes is continuum leakage, which reduces disk contrast further still. The GONG telescopes are engineered for performance, not a compromise of performance versus price, and have correspondingly better performance.
"

Hi Joe,