Need info how to modify Solarmax ll 90mm with 15mm bf to 30mm bf

this is the main message area for anything solar :)
Starman
The Sun?
The Sun?

Need info how to modify Solarmax ll 90mm with 15mm bf to 30mm bf

Post by Starman »

Hi, my name is Wayne and I'm new to solar astronomy, but not to astronomy. However the time span between my viewing sessions was just two long. When I saw the price of the Coranado units drop to my price range. I decided to make the jump. I sold my Siebert 2" binoviewers to kick start the financeing and within the last month I've purchased a 90mm Coranado Solarmax ll with a 15mm bf. I loved the view so much I double stacked right away with no regrets. I can see the advantage a 2" focuser with a 30mm bf will have and have been serchng for info. Meade has told me that the 30mm bf must be installed internaly at the factory.l'm glad their willing to do it but am thinking of upgrading to a fethertouch focuser ( Starlight Instraments has a swap out focuser and adapter for Solarmax ll) and the 30mm bf's I find comercially seem to be made to slip right into a 2" focuser. It seems to me I aught to be able to do just that. The pro's CYA and I know I have to be careful. I installed a lot of electrical in my house and I'm still here. But I was able to easily find plenty of info for do it yourselfers on the subject of electrical work and talked to electricians before I started. However on the subject of solar scope modification the pro's seem to be hands off. I was so glad to find this forum and there seems to be plenty of DIY'ers here and you can trust I want to keep my eyesight. I take full responsibility for the results of any modifications I make. Please advise me or share you experience with me. Thankyou, Wayne

Merlin66
Librarian
Librarian

Re: Need info how to modify Solarmax ll 90mm with 15mm bf to 30mm bf

Post by Merlin66 »

https://www.optcorp.com/coronado-bf30-3 ... ilter.html