Project Sunbyte is soon to fly

this is the main message area for anything solar :)
Astrograph
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Project Sunbyte is soon to fly

Post by Astrograph »

Our collaboration with Sheffield University and there Sunbyte Project is no very close to getting airborne. The team are at the REXUS/BEXUS facility in Sweden.

For daily updates please see the FB page https://www.facebook.com/projectsunbyte/ and the main website http://sunbyte.group.shef.ac.uk/

Briefly, Sunbyte is about hanging a telescope off a balloon and imaging the sun 25km up where it is a bracing -60C. Originally the project was due to image in the Ha band for which we commissioned a custom Research Grade filter from Solar Spectrum. Unfortunately although the filter is now ready, the launch schedule has not permitted its use due to lack of time for testing. As such the initial flight will image in the continuum band.

The project have developed a special, harmonic drive equipped mount for the telescope which will track the sun keeping the telescope pointed towards it at all times despite the movement of the balloon.

Fingers crossed it all works. If so, we get to do it all over again in Ha.

Montana
Librarian
Librarian

Re: Project Sunbyte is soon to fly

Post by Montana »

Wow! that sounds incredible, I hope it is successful. I guess then you will be selling the special cloud busting balloon mount to all astronomers :lol:

Alexandra

Astrograph
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Post by Astrograph »

Given the weather, that's not a bad idea Aleaxandra. I think we can make it work in a simpler way
Sunbyte on the cheap.jpg
Sunbyte on the cheap.jpg (123.34 KiB) Viewed 1964 times

Valery
Way More Fun to Share It!!

Post by Valery »

Thanks for the update, Rupert

What the SS filter parameters? Bandwidth, homogeneity and diameter?

What the telescope size and f.l.?

Is the scientific mission or just for illustrative imaging?