Given the cost, is double stacking worth it for someone who primarily does electronic imaging?

this is the main message area for anything solar :)
AJamesB
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Given the cost, is double stacking worth it for someone who primarily does electronic imaging?

Post by AJamesB »

Staring to mull over tucking money away for an eventual external doublestack for my lunt100. From what I've read, it makes a sizeable difference for those that do visual imaging, but I was wondering if there is any advantage to someone who primarily does 90% imaging, and only about 10% visual? Are cameras all ready able to see most of what doublestacking would bring out, or does it make a noteable difference when imaging? And if so, would it be a difference commensurate with the cost of purchasing it?

Thank in advance to anyone that can chime in with their experience.

Lunt ls100tha single stacked + hinode solar guider on ioptron cem26 mount
asi178mm
asi294mm
2x, 3x, and 4x telecentrics
0.6x and 0.4x telecompressors
Montana
Librarian
Librarian

Re: Given the cost, is double stacking worth it for someone who primarily does electronic imaging?

Post by Montana »

I mainly do imaging with a little visual. Once I got a double stack unit for my Solarscope I have never gone back to single stack. The view through the camera is just as beautiful as the visual. There is no longer the double limb effect, the spicules take on a 3D fluffiness, prominences and surface can suddenly be imaged in the same shot. Active region plage becomes brighter and more exciting. However, it is more difficult to see spots in the cores of active regions (lower bandwidth so seeing higher in chromosphere - can no longer see photosphere leakage) and perhaps fainter proms are more difficult to image due to reduced brightness. However, the benefits are far outweighed.

Once double stack, you can never go back.

Alexandra

Bob Yoesle
Almost There...
Almost There...