Tailor made glass optical slits

I LOVE finding out about different ways to appreciate the Sun and light in general. Use this forum to post your info or questions about various outside the mainstream ways to appreciate our life giving star!
Wah
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Tailor made glass optical slits

Post by Wah »

I recently have tailor made several glass optical slits from mainland China.
The slits quality seems to be better than what I originally expected.
But the reflectivity is only about 62% which is lower than my expectation.

3 slits in one glass plate: 10, 20, 30 um
Glass plate 30X2mm
Attachments
SlitDesign.png
SlitDesign.png (55.61 KiB) Viewed 5502 times
CIMG3681.png
CIMG3680.png
CIMG3679.png
40umHole_10X.png
40umHole_10X.png (59.28 KiB) Viewed 5503 times
10umHole_10X.png
10umHole_10X.png (41.62 KiB) Viewed 5503 times
10um_40X.png
10um_10X.png
CIMG3678.png

DSobserver
Almost There...
Almost There...

Re: Tailor made glass optical slits

Post by DSobserver »

now waiting for a shg test!

Wah
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Post by Wah »

Here is a reflectivity comparison to another glass slit that I have.

http://adamslab.co.uk/Students%20Lab/Ph ... uct_id=816

I took some pictures before and after reflection.
The reflectivity of both slits are lower than my expectation, and the China made one is not a lot lower than the other.
Attachments
Comparison.png
Comparison.png (61.21 KiB) Viewed 5471 times

p_zetner
Way More Fun to Share It!!

Post by p_zetner »

Hi Wah.
Please let me know if I understand the "reflectivity" you're referring to. Your slits appear to be gaps in a reflective, metallic coating on a glass substrate, obtained either by etching or masking. By quoting a 62% reflectivity, are you saying that 38% of the incident light "leaks" through the metallic coating?
Thanks.
Peter.

Wah
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Post by Wah »

Light pass through the coating is very little, I only could see very dim image of the light bulb.