Using a Coronado SolarMax stacking filter in a PST mod?

Frankenscope? Let's see it!***be advised that NOTHING in this forum has been safety tested and you are reading and using these posts at your own peril. blah, blah, blah... dont mess around with your eyesight when it comes to solar astronomy. Use appropriate filtration at all times...
digitalbio

Using a Coronado SolarMax stacking filter in a PST mod?

Post by digitalbio »

I am a newbie to solar viewing/imaging so I apologize if my question is confusing, but I am currently doing a stage 1 (and likely a stage 2) PST mod by attaching the etalon assembly to a larger aperture OTA (80 mm or so).

Currently, I have a double-stacking setup using the SolarMax 40mm Ha Narrowband Element Front Unit & TMax Tuner, which is attached in front of the PST's objective lens.

My question is this - by going to a larger aperture OT, have I negated the usefulness of this stacking filter? If not, do I still try and attach it before the objective using a stepdown adaptor (thereby negating the aperture increase but hopefully still taking advantage of an increased focal length) or can this element be inserted into the optical train between the etalon and the OT? Of course, since the stacking filter operates by physically tilting, I am concerned about the mechanical strain, especially if I attach a camera to the back end.

GUS
Way More Fun to Share It!!

Re: Using a Coronado SolarMax stacking filter in a PST mod?

Post by GUS »