Astronomik IR Block filter as internal ERF

Frankenscope? Let's see it!***be advised that NOTHING in this forum has been safety tested and you are reading and using these posts at your own peril. blah, blah, blah... dont mess around with your eyesight when it comes to solar astronomy. Use appropriate filtration at all times...
Vicchio
The Sun?
The Sun?

Astronomik IR Block filter as internal ERF

Post by Vicchio »

My name is Alex and I'm new in this Wonderful Forum :bow I live in the Mugello Valley, near the Appennini north of Florence, Italy, I love astronomy since I was eight year old.
I'm going to make my first Pst Mod, stage 1 , i'm planning to add a 70 or 80mm f10 acro WITHOUT FRONTAL ERF to the black box from a type II PST blue objective internal erf, and my question is:
Can I use my 1.25" Astronomik UV-IR block filter as additional internal ERF?
This setup: 80mm or less acro obj -Astronomik filter-Pst black box is safe enough for the life of my eyeballs and for etalon and internal Pst filters?
Thanks
Attachments
tmp_19225-astronomik-ir-block_trans1972239031.png
tmp_19225-astronomik-ir-block_trans1972239031.png (69.19 KiB) Viewed 6569 times

marktownley
Librarian
Librarian

Re: Astronomik IR Block filter as internal ERF

Post by marktownley »

Hi Alex, welcome to the forum!

Using the filter above will be better than using nothing, but I think you should be using something that offers a bit more protection. A 2" 7nm/35nm Ha filter would be much better.

Mark

http://brierleyhillsolar.blogspot.co.uk/
Solar images, a collection of all the most up to date live solar data on the web, imaging & processing tutorials - please take a look!
Vicchio
The Sun?
The Sun?

Post by Vicchio »

Thank you for reply Mark!