Back after a tough absence

Frankenscope? Let's see it!***be advised that NOTHING in this forum has been safety tested and you are reading and using these posts at your own peril. blah, blah, blah... dont mess around with your eyesight when it comes to solar astronomy. Use appropriate filtration at all times...
JohnM
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Back after a tough absence

Post by JohnM »

Back after a long absence, old age BS, eyes heart yada yada; this getting up to 75 is such a crock.
Anyway, I can see some now with one eye and I can get around much better, so it's back out to the observatory blowing the dust off things.
Got the old NGT 12.5 up and running and now it's back to my stage 2 PST mod mod. :D

I've misplaced my notes etc, and am setting up with the Denk 60 mm objective I hung onto.
My focuser, etalon, BF, EP assembly is still all together. I just need to know where to measure for the rest of the OTA,
From front of the etalon to front of the objective is correct, right?

I did a little experimenting the last couple days. I could get excellent resolution of proms showing now and just barely could bring a large filament that's been showing on the Solar surface into view, but not much surface detail at all.
My sweet spot is way off center and once I'm sure of the correct distance out to the objective I probably should check the collimation again.

Anyway, TIA, for any help you can give this old fart.

Merlin66
Librarian
Librarian

Re: Back after a tough absence

Post by Merlin66 »

John,
Glad to hear you are still with us!!
The etalon should be positioned as close as possible to -200mm inside the prime focus.
Remind us, what is the donor scope??

"Astronomical Spectroscopy - The Final Frontier" - to boldly go where few amateurs have gone before
https://groups.io/g/astronomicalspectroscopy  
http://astronomicalspectroscopy.com
"Astronomical Spectroscopy for Amateurs" and
"Imaging Sunlight - using a digital spectroheliograph" - Springer
marktownley
Librarian