Thoughts on modding my AP130GT with LS80 PT Etalon

Frankenscope? Let's see it!***be advised that NOTHING in this forum has been safety tested and you are reading and using these posts at your own peril. blah, blah, blah... dont mess around with your eyesight when it comes to solar astronomy. Use appropriate filtration at all times...
chrishet

Thoughts on modding my AP130GT with LS80 PT Etalon

Post by chrishet »

I am fairly new to solar imaging but so far I am having a blast and have really enjoyed my Lunt LS80 scope. Here is a link to some of my works, including an APOD of the transit a few days ago!

Imaging The Cosmos Solar Gallery

I also have an AP130GT that I use for deep sky imaging and I was curious if there are any advantages/disadvantages to adapting my Lunt PT module, plus FT focuser, to the back of my 130?

Roland insists that his oiled spaced triplet objectives can easily handle direct sunlight, i.e. using a Baader Hershel Wedge, but an ERF rejection filter could be used and I would probably go that route. What I like about a modification to the 130 Gran Turismo is that this scope is meant to be disassembled easily, basically it breaks into 3 parts for easy travel. If I could get an adapter to take the PT etalon plus FT focuser that is on the Lunt and replace the focus module on the GT I will have a quick way of turning my 130 from a very nice wide field deep sky imaging scope into a killer 750mm solar scope and back again. If I understand it correctly, the etalon has to be 200mm back from the focus point, that is why I will want to keep the PT module (etalon) and FT module (focuser) together – this doesn’t change the Lunt specs. The key IMO will be making the adapter and understanding the new reflection points.

Thoughts?

Regards,
Chris Hetlage

Merlin66
Librarian
Librarian

Re: Thoughts on modding my AP130GT with LS80 PT Etalon

Post by Merlin66 »

Chris,
Welcome to the forum.
The "majic" -200mm applies ONLY to the PST etalon mod.