SolarMax 60

Frankenscope? Let's see it!***be advised that NOTHING in this forum has been safety tested and you are reading and using these posts at your own peril. blah, blah, blah... dont mess around with your eyesight when it comes to solar astronomy. Use appropriate filtration at all times...
rsfoto
Way More Fun to Share It!!

SolarMax 60

Post by rsfoto »

Hi,

I am thinking in exchanging the helical focuser of a SolarMax 60 for one which can be easier motorized.

So my question is can the part 1 be separated from the part 2 ? What is inside part 1 ?

For what are those 2 cross headed screws there ?

Thnaks for your comments in advance :thanx:

regards Rainer

Observatorio Real de 14
San Luis Potosi Mexico

North 22° West 101°
rbotero
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Re: SolarMax 60

Post by rbotero »

There's a very good thread on CloudyNights precisely about this but the site is down at the moment and I can't post the link...

Many members here have done the modification - look at Ken Crawford for example.

Will try to get back to you with the link...

Roberto

rsfoto

Post by rsfoto »

Hi Roberto,

Thanks. I made an exhaustive search in CN but did not find anything :silly:

regards Rainer

Observatorio Real de 14
San Luis Potosi Mexico

North 22° West 101°
jstrong611

Post by jstrong611 »

Yes indeed, you can make this change. I just did it to my SolarMax II 60 using a MoonLite focuser (and Stepper Motor) from MoonLite (www.focuser.com).

Basically the entire helical focuser unscrews, and you replace it with the MoonLite, then move the Coronado 90-degree over to the new focuser. I'm attaching a couple of pics of my mod'ed Coronado.

The one tricky nuance is that there is a lens inside helical that screws into the MoonLite, and the etalon then "loosely" screws down onto that. Ron Newman at MoonLite has the info (this is so new they don't have it on their website yet).