Info on folded old mod needed

Frankenscope? Let's see it!***be advised that NOTHING in this forum has been safety tested and you are reading and using these posts at your own peril. blah, blah, blah... dont mess around with your eyesight when it comes to solar astronomy. Use appropriate filtration at all times...
Allcart
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Info on folded old mod needed

Post by Allcart »

While reading all the old mod topics I came across this photo of the Macongun experiment by SwissWalter and mark Townley.

Some questions.
What lens was used in front of the Lunt60.
Can this be done with any larger scope as the primary.
Does this mod work without altering or shortening the primary scope.

It looks to be a fairly simple and effective way of increasing aperture without actually making any real modification to either scope.

I would be interested in knowing if Mark or Walter perfected the setup.

Attached files

Allan
highfnum
Way More Fun to Share It!!

Re: Info on folded old mod needed

Post by highfnum »

What a wild and original idea
Does it work?

Allcart
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Post by Allcart »

it appeared to have great potential. Swisswalter posted some preliminary pics as a taste of things to come, but I can't find any others. I don't know if mark had any success with his pst version.

Its not an original idea, more of a variation on a theme, but I like it a lot. It lets you have the eye piece at a more body friendly position for viewing.

I'm trying to work out what happens to the light path as it travels through the system.

Allan
marktownley
Librarian
Librarian

Post by marktownley »

I think this design is impractical really unless you have an observatory grade mount and an optical test bed to mount all the components properly - like Rogerio has done.