Need help understanding the magic 200

Frankenscope? Let's see it!***be advised that NOTHING in this forum has been safety tested and you are reading and using these posts at your own peril. blah, blah, blah... dont mess around with your eyesight when it comes to solar astronomy. Use appropriate filtration at all times...
Allcart
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Need help understanding the magic 200

Post by Allcart »

Forgive my lack of understanding, but I am way behind you guys and trying to catch up. Please correct me if I am wrong.
My understand so far is that the light cone on a f10 system is intercepted by the pst collimating lens, which is a 25mm -200mm plano concave followed by a 25mm +200mm plano convex lens to refocus the light to the EP. The -200mm lens has to be placed 200mm inside the F10 light cone.

The lenses can be changed to a different set for use on different f ratio systems, eg. 25mm -150 and a 25mm +150 and the system will still work. Assuming I changed the collimating lens to a 25mm -150 then this should be placed 150mm inside the light cone, or a -100mm would be placed 100mm inside the light cone. These figures are just examples so that I might better understand how things work.

Is the place where the lens intercepts the light cone governed by the focal length of the lens, or is it governed by the lens diameter. Visualising a simple light cone, would a 25mm dia lens be placed where the light cone is 25mm wide?

Allan
marktownley
Librarian
Librarian

Re: Need help understanding the magic 200

Post by marktownley »

It is a 25mm diameter lens, but only 20mm diameter is actually used, hence 20mm @ -200mm fl = f10.

The key thing is matching up the focal ratio of the negative focal length collimating lens with the focal ratio of the objective of the donor OTA. They need to be the same.

So, yes, you put the negative collimating lens at whatever its focal length is inside the focal point of the donor OTA.