Another Quark/Lunt DS question

Frankenscope? Let's see it!***be advised that NOTHING in this forum has been safety tested and you are reading and using these posts at your own peril. blah, blah, blah... dont mess around with your eyesight when it comes to solar astronomy. Use appropriate filtration at all times...
edwyun
The Sun?
The Sun?

Another Quark/Lunt DS question

Post by edwyun »

Hello,
I have a question for the collective brain trust. I'm putting together a Quark chromo/Lunt etalon double stack for a refactor. A lot of good information on this site about that. In selecting the Lunt etalon, is there any reason to get the LS50FHa over the LS40FHa? I would be using a RAF Camera adapter to mount the Lunt. From what I've seen, the LS40 seems to work just fine. Is there any benefit to getting the LS50?

My sense is that the limitation is with the Quark chromo and not the Lunt in terms of aperture. Thanks.

Ed

DavidP
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Re: Another Quark/Lunt DS question

Post by DavidP »

Hi Ed.
I was waiting for a more knowledgeable response, but since there’s been none, I’ll chime in.
You didn’t mention your refractor aperture or focal length, but using a Lunt 40 shouldn’t restrict your light cone if it is positioned correctly, nor would the 50 improve light throughput or resolution over the 40. So likely no real improvements using the 50.
The air-spaced etalon should go after the solid one.
Generally this combo creates a pretty dim image. I’ve used a similar combination, and though I’ve never looked through it visually, it requires problematically long exposure times or high gain.

edwyun
The Sun?
The Sun?

Post by edwyun »

David,