Dream come true!

Use this section to discuss "standard" Baader/Coronado/ Lunt SolarView/ Daystar, etc… filters, cameras and scopes. No mods, just questions/ answers and reviews.
Bob Yoesle
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Dream come true!

Post by Bob Yoesle » Mon Mar 30, 2015 5:18 am

I've just realized one of my dreams, the "Holy Grail" of solar filters - the Coronado SM140 with an internal SM90 double-stacking module:
IMGP3593 SM crp.jpg
IMGP3593 SM crp.jpg (364.33 KiB) Viewed 11514 times

Only six SM140's - so far the largest commercial production H alpha filters - were made by Coronado Tucson -- three by Andy Lunt and three by Brian Stephens (both now with Lunt Solar of course), and only two were equipped with double stacking modules. One (allegedly with an internal SM60 module) is used at the Vatican Observatory in Rome, and the other was presented at Hands On The Sun (HOTS) in Tucson late in 2005 using the SM90 internal module installed in a TAK FS 152 f8, as shown here:
784582-6.jpg
784582-6.jpg (35.35 KiB) Viewed 11514 times
I was able to view through it first-hand then, and the image was pretty darn awesome. I recently informed Greg Piepol (who also attended) about getting this set, and he remarked
Boy, do I remember that SM140! I skipped a talk at HOTS 2005 to spend some quality time looking through it. In all my years, that filter combination was the best solar view I've seen.
I will be putting this system together with a 150 f8 achromat (no real need to use a Fluorite APO), and as luck would have it (just as with the SM90) the filter threads for the T-Max tuner are identical the objective cell, and no front filter adapter is necessary:
IMGP3599 crp SM.jpg
IMGP3599 crp SM.jpg (255.76 KiB) Viewed 11514 times
The internal module outer rings are removable, and can be easily adapted to the new OTA inside diameter once the internal baffles are removed, and the tube shortened slightly for bino-viewer use:
IMGP3597 crp SM.jpg