Newbie advice please

this is the main message area for anything solar :)
Tigger
Ohhhhhh My!
Ohhhhhh My!

Newbie advice please

Post by Tigger »

Good evening,

I am new to SolarChat and this is my first post. I would really appreciate some advice from the community. I have been doing night time astronomy for over 10 years and have 4", 6" and 14" scopes. I have always wanted to do solar but have only just got round to it. What's not to love, astronomy with the most dynamic object in the sky; in the warm sun and topping up the vitamin D.

I have dipped my toe in the water and 6 months ago bought a Lunt ls50 b600. A basic starter scope. Well now I am hooked but on a tight budget. I want to upgrade a little bit but do not know which way to go. I am purely visual and have no desire to do AP, but I want more detail/resolution so do I: -

1. Double stack my ls50? - I have read that the surface features will be easier to see because the contrast is increased, but will I be able to see more detail on the proms? I can easily get 43x mag and usually 70x mag is ok. Will my mag be compromised because the disk will be darker and by how much. I have seen image comparisons of ls50 ss & ds but what will I see visually?

2. Do I sell the ls50 and get a ss ls60? will I see very much more detail on the proms. I know its a 44% increase in light gathering but will I see much difference visually. I guess the surface will still look roughly the same as with the 50, which is pretty uninspiring.

Is it better to get the bigger scope or ds my 50? or is there another alternative?

I would appreciate some advise because solar is very expensive and I want to make the right decision. I have looked around for second hand gear but there is not much going. I guess most people hang on to their scopes when they upgrade. I am guilty of this as well. Do we all hang on to our scopes just in case.....

Thanks for reading and I hope you can help

John

Carbon60
Way More Fun to Share It!!