Strange image artifacts

this is the main message area for anything solar :)
Paleblueastro
The Sun?
The Sun?

Strange image artifacts

Post by Paleblueastro »

I've been perusing this forum for a few months now after getting in to solar imaging, I've been doing deepsky for a few years and wanted to extend the hobby into daylight, I use a 152mm F5 Acro with a quark stopped down to 90mm to reach F/35 and a ZWO tilt adapter on a QHY5III174M to image, I've gotten a few promising results so far but my last couple sessions I've noticed some weirdness creeping into my images, I seem to have a partial region that looks maybe off band? Or something? It appears brighter than the rest of the image, and looses all the nice Ha detail, the weird part is it rotates around WITH the camera, so if I loosen off the set screw on the camera only and rotate it this aberration rotates with it the rest of the imaging train remains unchanged has anyone come across this before? Luckily if it's the camera it's brand new so still under warranty
The region in question is circled
The region in question is circled
2021-06-01-2336_7_lapl4_ap4068_processed.png (957.85 KiB) Viewed 250 times
AR2827.png
AR2827.png (1.16 MiB) Viewed 250 times

marktownley
Librarian
Librarian

Re: Strange image artifacts

Post by marktownley »

Hi There.

Welcome to the forum!

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news but this is (another) example of poor quality unevenly illuminated Quarks. There's nothing you can do to fix it, maybe return it to where you got it from and try and see if you can get a better replacement?

Mark

http://brierleyhillsolar.blogspot.co.uk/
Solar images, a collection of all the most up to date live solar data on the web, imaging & processing tutorials - please take a look!
yltansg
Way More Fun to Share It!!
Way More Fun to Share It!!

Post by yltansg »

Hi Paleblueastro,

Like what Mark said, it is probably due to an unevenly illuminated Quark.