Page 1 of 2

Grasshopper 3 test

Posted: Mon Aug 26, 2013 6:32 pm
by Montana
Just a couple of photos, the poor computer has been churning all afternoon, the Grasshopper really takes ages to process. The DMK41 was taken in good morning seeing, the Grasshopper (last on the list for testing) was taken around midday and wobbly seeing. I can really only see a major difference in real estate at the moment, but I can certainly say it is much more sensitive in Halpha than the DMK41, it is quicker and I only saved 600 frames rather than 1000. You blink and it has done 600 frames!

DMK41 (DSF-100 / 1.6x Barlow)


2013-08-26 10-05-32 DMK41 by Alexandra's Astronomy, on Flickr

Grasshopper 3 (DSF-100 / 1.6x Barlow)


260813_112424 PGR Grasshopper 3 by Alexandra's Astronomy, on Flickr

and the Grasshopper made pretty


260813_112424 f colour by Alexandra's Astronomy, on Flickr

However I couldn't use 16 bit with the Grasshopper as I got the kiss of death when I pressed that button ;)

Michel, the war begins (well, I don't stand much chance against you really :lol: )

Alexandra

Re: Grasshopper 3 test

Posted: Mon Aug 26, 2013 6:46 pm
by Derek Klepp
What a marvellous area to test on.That pics put me an a good frame of mind for the day.

Re: Grasshopper 3 test

Posted: Mon Aug 26, 2013 6:47 pm
by RobBower
:bow: :bow: :bow: outstanding! :hamster: You must be thrilled!

Re: Grasshopper 3 test

Posted: Mon Aug 26, 2013 6:53 pm
by astroshot
Alexandra,
As you say, the main difference visually seems to be in frame size. Both give great detail.
Interesting you say that the Grasshopper is much more sensitive than the DMK41. In theory, for the same number of frames, I would expect the Grasshopper to reveal slightly sharper detail as it would freeze the seeing better due to the shorter exposure length.
Then again, there was a *lengthy* discussion on one of the Facebook groups about this issue recently. I forget what the conclusion was TBH...
Does the Grasshopper need USB3 or SSD or anything like that?
How did you find the software to use?

Re: Grasshopper 3 test

Posted: Mon Aug 26, 2013 7:07 pm
by colmic
AHHHHHHHHHHH!!!

So the day has arrived!

This is a very good first attempt, go to correct this BSOD with 16bits option and you'll really see the difference.

VS a DMK41, Grasshopper3 has:
- more sensitive sensor, far more
- more dynamic range, far far more
- less noise, far far far less
- bigger sensor, far more
- more fps, 2x more

The unique point they are equal is in the pixel size (4.65 vs 4.54), the resolution is identical

So YES, YOU WILL see the difference :)

Re: Grasshopper 3 test

Posted: Mon Aug 26, 2013 7:09 pm
by solardave
fantastic alexandra :thumbsup: :bow:

Re: Grasshopper 3 test

Posted: Mon Aug 26, 2013 7:16 pm
by p_zetner
Those are superb, Alexandra!

Cheers.
Peter.

Re: Grasshopper 3 test

Posted: Mon Aug 26, 2013 7:43 pm
by gabrieli
Like silk.

Re: Grasshopper 3 test

Posted: Mon Aug 26, 2013 8:09 pm
by Montana
Thank you :)

Alexandra

PS the hubby has attempted to download the driver thing, will see if I get the kiss of death again with the 16 bit tick :)

Re: Grasshopper 3 test

Posted: Tue Aug 27, 2013 12:42 am
by sullij1
Good luck with the Grasshopper. :bow:

Re: Grasshopper 3 test

Posted: Tue Aug 27, 2013 5:28 am
by solar
Great you got that thing working Alexandra. Hope you solve the 16Bit thing.
Me I can't even down load Fire Capture. Sorry I even bought the Thing. Long live DMK.

Re: Grasshopper 3 test

Posted: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:13 am
by pstew
Awesome :bow: :bow:

Re: Grasshopper 3 test

Posted: Tue Aug 27, 2013 7:59 am
by marktownley
Very good images Alexandra, that camera is a keeper 8)

Re: Grasshopper 3 test

Posted: Tue Aug 27, 2013 8:44 am
by DJD
Been following your trials and tribulations with some interest.
The results speak for themselves. Well worth the effort.
Brilliant :bow:
Best wishes,
David

Re: Grasshopper 3 test

Posted: Tue Aug 27, 2013 9:03 am
by solar
Alexandra I know there is a thread here somewhere about your troubles downloading Fire Capture and passwords but I can't find it. I'm having the same trouble. Help :kiss:

Re: Grasshopper 3 test

Posted: Tue Aug 27, 2013 9:25 am
by Montana
When you download Firecapture, the user is firecapture (little f) and no password. It then should download (download 2.2 first)

All the instructions from Colmic (michel) are here + my little fixes at the end of the thread http://solarchat.solarastronomy.org/ind ... sshopper-3

also be sure to download this Intel driver https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail ... ldID=21129

Many thanks everyone, lots to process and lots to test :)

Alexandra

Re: Grasshopper 3 test

Posted: Tue Aug 27, 2013 10:09 am
by marktownley
which chip is it in your grasshopper alexandra?

Re: Grasshopper 3 test

Posted: Tue Aug 27, 2013 10:52 am
by colmic
Same as mine Mark, ICX674 2.8Mpixels. Very, very good sensor for solar imaging, if not the best actually...

Re: Grasshopper 3 test

Posted: Tue Aug 27, 2013 12:00 pm
by gabrieli
Hi Alexandra

Since I don't have a double stack yet and some unusual processing on double stack images gives interesting results,
I took the liberty(if you would prefer that I remove this, just let me know) of using one of your images and applied the Shadows/Highlights technique outlined in Michel's (colmic's) tutorial (values: 60/10/10,20/50/800) to see if extra detail could be brought out in the off-limb features.

Here's the result:



Your original is on the left

I'm still struggling with my own attempts but your images seem to lend themselves to this processing effectively even using
the 8 bit images off the screen.

Re: Grasshopper 3 test

Posted: Tue Aug 27, 2013 2:11 pm
by Montana
Wow! that's very good! I've never had much luck with shadows and highlights myself as I just get in an artificial mess, this looks very natural though and I'm interested :)

Alexandra

Re: Grasshopper 3 test

Posted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 5:21 pm
by etatsolarchat
Those of you that have a ICX674 PGR... do you get a dark band on the top and bottom of the frame like this? Ignore the corners, its the top and bottom band that annoys me and don't know where it's coming from... If I swap out the camera for a same size sensor the ICX625, the bands are totally gone, so it seems to be the camera body or sensor? I have a grasshopper express but I believe I saw others with this issue with grasshopper 3 version also.



Re: Grasshopper 3 test

Posted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 6:15 pm
by gabrieli
Hi Eric

I know that "misery loves company" is no consolation but, yes, your situation is identical to my situation wth dark bands just inside the top and bottom of the frame. Your question is one I asked after I started using my 2/3" G3 many months ago. I also get a single dark band across the top of the frame in my Chameleon.

I don't know what causes it, whether it's an interference effect, and I don't recall whether it happens in white light.
If it doesn't happen in white light, it may be an interference effect due to the narrow wavelength used at the very narrow gap
between the sensor and the protective glass just above it where it's supported at the edges.

Most of the time, I don't need the entire frame, and crop the frame or use a slightly smaller ROI. However minor it has turned out to be, I would like to use all the real estate I paid for.


There is a question I'd like to ask you and other Grasshopper 3 users. In Firecapture, does your Liveview screen "flash" briefly
when you adjust the shutter speed? This doesn't happen in Flycature, only in Firecapture.

Re: Grasshopper 3 test

Posted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 6:20 pm
by gabrieli
Alexandra

Have you tried recording in 16 bits using the PGR software? Use "streaming" mode instead of buffering when you choose
your format.

Re: Grasshopper 3 test

Posted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 6:23 pm
by Montana
I get those lines too, you have to cut them off :( but only in Hydrogen alpha as it is not there in WL :?

I have been using the 16 bit, although I forgot to tick the button yesterday :blush: I've not seen a buffering or streaming button yet?

Alexandra

Re: Grasshopper 3 test

Posted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 9:23 pm
by swisswalter
Hi Alexandra


congratulations, that seems to work




Hi Eric

I have the same problem with my Basler Ace 640-100 gm