ASI183 FPS and settings

The place for all your solar software; capture, stacking, post processing, ancillaries etc. It's all up for discussion here!
DavidP
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

ASI183 FPS and settings

Post by DavidP »

I'm new to solar imaging and am using an ASI183 right now for full disc with a double stacked 75mm front mounted filters.
Setting gain as low as possible to keep the histogram around 80 to 90%, I end up with a gain of around 206 (45%) but am only getting fps ranges of 2 to 6. Comments on these settings and explanation of why I can get more FPS?
Thanks

Merlin66
Librarian
Librarian

Re: ASI183 FPS and settings

Post by Merlin66 »

David,
I used an ASI 183MM on my SM60 DS/ ED80 for a while and returned it to ZWO due to "technical issues when imaging solar Ha". They supplied an ASI 1600MM in exchange.
I also use a x1.6 Barlow.
I use SharpCapture with a zero gain setting of 139 and a gamma of 50.
Vary the exposure to bring the histogram up to 85-90%
I can usually get around 12fps with a full frame, better if you ROI just the solar disk.

"Astronomical Spectroscopy - The Final Frontier" - to boldly go where few amateurs have gone before
https://groups.io/g/astronomicalspectroscopy  
http://astronomicalspectroscopy.com
"Astronomical Spectroscopy for Amateurs" and
"Imaging Sunlight - using a digital spectroheliograph" - Springer
PDB
Almost There...
Almost There...

Post by PDB »

Hi,

the max fps range of the ASI183 in full resolution is 19fps. But you will need a fast computer and usb connection to get that. Also important for that is that USB limit is set at 100%. (But you risc dropping frames when your system can't coop)

You also did not specify exposure length setting. That is important too, because it limits the framerate. To slow and you can't get the 19fps anymore.

Rgrds,

Paul

marktownley
Librarian
Librarian

Post by marktownley »

PDB wrote: Thu Apr 16, 2020 8:20 am Also important for that is that USB limit is set at 100%.