Sending etalons by post

Use this section to discuss "standard" Baader/Coronado/ Lunt SolarView/ Daystar, etc… filters, cameras and scopes. No mods, just questions/ answers and reviews.
Highbury Mark
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Sending etalons by post

Post by Highbury Mark »

I have a frustrating problem with a Solarscope 70mm filter, which I use as part of a double stack system with a TV85. The inner black filter is stuck fast to the adapter which attaches the etalon to the telescope, and the tiny tuning dial on the filter is no longer adjustable.
If I try to unscrew the filter, its outer casing begins to unscrew, as the glue originally used to hold the casing in place is no longer effective. I’ve tried a strap wrench to separate it, but no joy.
Solarscope will fix the problem, but that will involve a return trip to the Isle of Man. Annoying to risk a perfectly good etalon when the problem is mechanical, but I don’t really have an alternative. Just wondering if anyone has any advice for sending etalons by post - is there a preferred carrier for particularly fragile items, and has anyone ever insured an etalon against decontacting during shipping?
Thanks!

Solarscope SF70DS + TV85
TSA-120, Baader wedge
Montana
Librarian
Librarian

Re: Sending etalons by post

Post by Montana »

Mark,
do you still have the original box and shipping box that it came to you in? if it got to you safe, then it should get back safe (should). If it decontacts on the way back, you just ship it back again. Solarscope seem very reliable and won't charge you any extra.

I would ask Helmut who best to ship with (who do they use)? if they use them, then they should be good (possibly).

Good luck
Alexandra

MalVeauX
Way More Fun to Share It!!
Way More Fun to Share It!!

Post by MalVeauX »

Heya,

There's always risk shipping an etalon, always. But don't get too hung up on it. It's just a thing.