Binoviewer Recommendation

Use this section to discuss "standard" Baader/Coronado/ Lunt SolarView/ Daystar, etc… filters, cameras and scopes. No mods, just questions/ answers and reviews.
Jordan Konisky
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Binoviewer Recommendation

Post by Jordan Konisky »

I am seeking advice on selecting a Binoviewer for my Quark system. While my imaging setup (Quark chromosphere, SW ED100 refractor, ZWO 174mm and accessories) provides excellent images, there are times when I prefer visual observing. On these occasions my 32mm Plossl renders excellent views, although the viewing can be awkward and a strain on the eye. To bring some improvement to my visual observing, I am considering purchasing a binoviewer. Not surprisingly, there is a huge spread in the price, and, apparently, quality. Having no experience with using one, I am at a loss to judge what brand and quality would be a good match to my Quartz-SW ED100 setup. I would appreciate any help and suggestions as to what binoviewer would be appropriate for me to consider.

Jordan

Jordan -
SkyWatcher ED100 Refractor with Diamond Steeltrack Crawford Focuser
Celestron CG4 Equatorial Mount
Daystar Quark H-Alpha Chromosphere
Lunt CaK B1800 Filter Module
Lunt White Light Solar Wedge
ZWO ASI174MM, ZWOASI1600MM Cameras
george9
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Re: Binoviewer Recommendation

Post by george9 »

I have heard that H-alpha observation is not very sensitive to the quality or design of the binoviewer, so feel free to save money.

I have been using a Denkmeier II binoviewer for H-alpha for 15 years on different scopes including several with a Quark, and I have been very happy. The Quark's internal Barlow (assuming you have the standard Quark) solves most back-focus issues. So you won't need a Barlow or Glasspath corrector or OCS. And the light is monochromatic, so no worry about chromatic aberration.