Possible flare from the 2nd of February?

An archive of all the best images Solar Chat has to offer!
daniele_bonfiglio
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Possible flare from the 2nd of February?

Post by daniele_bonfiglio »

Dear all,
I think I was lucky enough to capture a significant flare for my first time.
I still have to post process the photos I took during almost one hour from 10.10 UT on the 2nd of February.
This is just a first processing from a two minutes interval around 10.20 UT when, according to the GONG H alpha images there was a flare on this active region, the 12939. The GOES X ray flux data also shows a peak on the same time.
In the next days I will post more pictures and hopefully a timelapse showing the flare.
My instrumentation is a Daystar Solar Scout DS 60/930 on a Skywatcher AZ-GTi mount. As a camera I use my Fujifilm X-T30 mirrorless. I do burtst of jpeg shots at around 10 FPS (I know this will sound ridiculously low to most of you but this is the best I can do right now and it's not so bad given the small diameter of my scope, and I prefer this to undersampled videos) and I correct them for field rotation with a home made script using the image magick engine. I stack the frames with Planetary System Stacker (1.5x drizzle to reach the optimal sampling), and process them with ImPPG and finally Photoshop.
Best Daniele
AR12939 at 10.20 UT
AR12939 at 10.20 UT
gruppo06_pss_f400_p46_b86_ap598_imppg_ps_crop.jpg (906.54 KiB) Viewed 756 times

Solar scopes: Daystar Solar Scout DS 60/930
80mm f6 achromatic refractor with Daystar Quark from the Solar Scout
Scope: Skywatcher Maksutov-Cassegrain 127/1500
Mount: Skywatcher AZ-GTi
Camera: Fujifilm X-T30
Instagram: @daniele.bonfiglio.astropics
marktownley
Librarian
Librarian

Re: Possible flare from the 2nd of February?

Post by marktownley »

That came out nice Daniele. I image my full disks at 9fps.

http://brierleyhillsolar.blogspot.co.uk/