How to get to F/30 with fast scope and mica etalon

Frankenscope? Let's see it!***be advised that NOTHING in this forum has been safety tested and you are reading and using these posts at your own peril. blah, blah, blah... dont mess around with your eyesight when it comes to solar astronomy. Use appropriate filtration at all times...
Highbury Mark
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

How to get to F/30 with fast scope and mica etalon

Post by Highbury Mark »

Unlike the Quark with its 4.2x telecentric, the new Baader/Solar Spectrum Sundancer II only features a 3x inbuilt telecentric. So with a typical F/7.5, 120mm refractor (in this case a Tak TSA-120), I’m only going to get to F/22.5 - well short of the F/30 needed with mica etalons to achieve desired contrast. If a full aperture Baader D-ERF is used, would it be effective (or more importantly safe) to add a focal extender (Tak 1.5x extender) on the telescope side of the diagonal? This would bring the total F/ratio to a decent F/33.75. Would work perfectly with 55mm and 40mm plossls, so overall power wouldn’t be too high.
Or is the only answer to stop down the aperture to slow down the speed of the system?
Primarily, I’m unsure of the protection offered by D-ERFs. But I also wonder if there might be any optical degradation?

Solarscope SF70DS + TV85
TSA-120, Baader wedge
marktownley
Librarian
Librarian

Re: How to get to F/30 with fast scope and mica etalon

Post by marktownley »

I would stop down, or get an f10 native scope if you want to use a sundancer.

http://brierleyhillsolar.blogspot.co.uk/
Solar images, a collection of all the most up to date live solar data on the web, imaging & processing tutorials - please take a look!
Highbury Mark
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Post by Highbury Mark »

Hmmm, thanks Mark. Baader apparently have plans for a 4x Sundancer at some stage in the future, but could be a long wait.

Solarscope SF70DS + TV85
TSA-120, Baader wedge
christian viladrich
Way More Fun to Share It!!