Pressure Tuning Leaks on a Lunt

Use this section to discuss "standard" Baader/Coronado/ Lunt SolarView/ Daystar, etc… filters, cameras and scopes. No mods, just questions/ answers and reviews.
rray6
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Pressure Tuning Leaks on a Lunt

Post by rray6 »

I have a question concerning my equipment that someone might be able to answer. I have a 10-year-old Lunt LS-80THAPT-B18F with the DSII internal double stack module. I was viewing the sun yesterday from my New Mexico observatory and I noticed that the pressure tuning knobs for both the telescope and the DSII unit seemed to be turning easier or more freely than I remember. I thought there used to be more resistance especially toward the end of tightening. I also noticed little change in the images when I loosened and tightened the knobs - at least not as much change as I remember. Is it possible that I don't have as good a seal as originally and the pressure tuning knobs are leaking? Is there something I can do to fix this (if it is a problem) - like adding some sort of grease on the tuning knob threads? I have not done much maintenance on this scope but it has always performed well for me. If anyone has any suggestions, I would appreciate hearing them. Thanks.

-Robert

Robert Ray
Last night as I lay in bed looking up at the stars in the sky, I thought to myself -- "Where the heck is the ceiling???"

www.redshift48.com
Lunt LS80 DSII B1800 f/7
WO 132mm f/7
Celestron 9.5 Edge HD f/10
Stellarvue 80mm f/7 Raptor SVR80ST2
WO Z73ii f/5.9 APO
Lunt CaK B1800 Filter and Baader Herschel Wedge (Photo)
PGR Grasshopper 3.0 (ICX687 - mono)
Player One Apollo M-Max IMX432
ZWO ASI178MM and ZWO ASI174MM with filter wheel
SBIG STT8300M
ZWO ASI2600MC-P
Canon 5D Mark IV and Canon Rebel T7i
AP 1200GTO (Permanent) and iOptron CEM60EC and CEM25EC Mounts
marktownley
Librarian
Librarian

Re: Pressure Tuning Leaks on a Lunt

Post by marktownley »