Firecapture remote server?

The place for all your solar software; capture, stacking, post processing, ancillaries etc. It's all up for discussion here!
vineyard
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Firecapture remote server?

Post by vineyard »

Hello,

I have a Q which may be a v silly one so here goes! Is it possible to use Firecapture via a remote server on an RPi?

For example, I can use EKOS via Kstars by setting up a remote server on an RPi - I connect to the Pi via ethernet, and through that can control for DSO imaging. (The laptop is used for the actual control, the Pi just acts as a relay I guess).

Can something similar be done w FC? I know FC can be installed on a Stellarmate RPi but I think that just uses the Pi for everything (image acquisition etc) which stretches a Pi to breaking point. So does FC allow itself to used in the same way EKOS can be?

Sorry if that's a daft Q.

Cheers,

Vin

JochenM
Way More Fun to Share It!!
Way More Fun to Share It!!

Re: Firecapture remote server?

Post by JochenM »

Hi Vin

As far as I'm aware, there's no way to do that with Firecapture (or any of the alternatives for that matter). I've had a similar idea cross my mind before, but based on what I could find; the only option is to control everything from the remote machine, which like you mentioned is a hassle for a whole bunch of reasons.

Jochen Maes
Belgium
https://www.jochenmaes.com
PDB
Almost There...
Almost There...

Post by PDB »

Hi,

the only program (i am aware of) that could do that is Planetary Imager from Marco Gulino It could be run in a client server model (with the Gui on local computer and the capturing remote). https://planetaryimager.gulinux.net/ https://github.com/GuLinux/PlanetaryImager
Philp (GreatAttractor, on this forum) has been activelly contributed to the software.

However:
-don't know if it is still maintained
-if the sever par can run on an rPI (maybe you need to do the compilation yourself)

Regards,

Paul