Are blue and red wings of hydrogen alpha basically equivalent?

Use this section to discuss "standard" Baader/Coronado/ Lunt SolarView/ Daystar, etc… filters, cameras and scopes. No mods, just questions/ answers and reviews.
daniele_bonfiglio
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Post by daniele_bonfiglio »

Dear all,
I have a Daystar Solar Scout and it looks that the Quark in it is in the opposite condition of what described in this wonderful test reported by Alexandra https://solarnutcase.livejournal.com/12257.html

I mean, my Quark is on band in the almost counter clock position of the dial (towards the blue) and therefore it would be possible to look at the red wing (instead of the blue wing as in Alexandra's test).

So my question is: are the red and blue wings equivalent in terms of the features that can be observed and the altitude above the photosphere of the observed layer? (I understand the H alpha wings allow to look at the lower chromosphere while the H alpha center shows the higher chromosphere layer). Of course regarding the Doppler effect the red and blue wings will not be equivalent but opposite.

Best, Daniele

Solar scopes: Daystar Solar Scout DS 60/930
80mm f6 achromatic refractor with Daystar Quark from the Solar Scout
Scope: Skywatcher Maksutov-Cassegrain 127/1500
Mount: Skywatcher AZ-GTi
Camera: Fujifilm X-T30
Instagram: @daniele.bonfiglio.astropics
christian viladrich
Way More Fun to Share It!!

Re: Are blue and red wings of hydrogen alpha basically equivalent?

Post by christian viladrich »

Hello Daniele,

The answer is yes :-)

Look for example slides 30 to 40 :

https://www.hao.ucar.edu/partnerships/h ... harmer.pdf

Best

Christian

Christian Viladrich
Co-author of "Planetary Astronomy"
http://planetary-astronomy.com/
Editor of "Solar Astronomy"
http://www.astronomiesolaire.com/
daniele_bonfiglio
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Dear Christian,
Thank you very much for your answer and the very interesting link!