Solar Scintillation Monitor

VENDORS WELCOME! Please, only solar equipment.
vineyard
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Solar Scintillation Monitor

Post by vineyard »

Hello,

In the unlikely event that someone has an SSM they no longer use, I'd be v interested pls. Want to understand how good or volatile the seeing here is. Must be in excellent condition please.

Thanks & cheers,

Vin

rsfoto
Way More Fun to Share It!!

Re: Solar Scintillation Monitor

Post by rsfoto »

vineyard wrote: Tue May 31, 2022 8:39 am Hello,

In the unlikely event that someone has an SSM they no longer use, I'd be v interested pls. Want to understand how good or volatile the seeing here is. Must be in excellent condition please.

Thanks & cheers,

Vin
Hi Vin,

IMHO better save that money for better things and with time you will be able to judge your seeing.

BTW, I process my AVI videos with AviStack 2.0 and there I get a diagramm of how much pixels my details moves and multiplying the pixel value by your image scale you can find out your seeing.

regards Rainer

Observatorio Real de 14
San Luis Potosi Mexico

North 22° West 101°
vineyard
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Post by vineyard »

Thanks Rainer, that's intriguing. I use FC & ImPPG so I wonder if there's a way of extracting that info from there. There is the theoretical convenience of setting up an imaging trigger linked to an SSM reading so that you can go off and do s/t else (like do visual in WL...) but I suppose how often would that happen :lol:

Cheers!

rsfoto

Post by rsfoto »

Hi Vin,

I took 4 videos of past days and ehre the graph I get. By pure coincidence my image scale in H-alpha is 1.001" arcseconds per pixel so the seeing is 1.1 to my pixel deviation.

Then I look where the graph is more dense and so I can make a good guess about my seeing.

For example I would judge seeing for

May 19th a bit <1" or =1"
May 23rd ~1.5"
May 25th ~1" to ~ 1.25"
May 27th ~ 1.25" to ~1.5"

May 19th
May 19th