Early morning sun Daystar SS60DS

this is the main message area for anything solar :)
RodAstro
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Early morning sun Daystar SS60DS

Post by RodAstro »

Hi
I haven't posted any images for a while so thought I may as well pop these on after having some success with the Solar Scout.
Since getting this scope I have used the Quark unit on my 6" scope for high res imaging and it works quite well but as the SS60DS it has not been very good.
First the etalon is very patchy on the SS60DS but not on the 6", maybe the flats sort this in high res.
Secondly the focuser on the SS60DS is s..t the objective just wobbles around all over as you turn the focuser, this is due to the play in the focuser thread and the fact the thread is at the back of a very long tube that just amplifies the problem throwing the suns image all over the field as you focus.

Today though as the sun was being thrown about I noticed by luck a part of the field where the suns image was far more uniform/less patchy so after a bit of camera rotating and manoeuvring of the image (after the focuser had flopped) to the best bit I actually got a good image, well for this scope anyway.
Now I have to think of a way to sort the focuser.
The scope is also stopped down to 30mm to bring it to f31.

Daystar SS60DS, 0.5 focal reducer set to 0.8, ZWO ASI174
Fire Capture, AS3, ImPPG, Ps6.

Cheers Rod
Attachments
093419_ZWO ASI174MM_l4_ap1246 ImPPGsurface Ps6.jpg
093419_ZWO ASI174MM_l4_ap1246 ImPPGsurface Ps6.jpg (228.26 KiB) Viewed 929 times
093419_ZWO ASI174MM_l4_ap1246 ImPPGsunproms Ps6.jpg
093419_ZWO ASI174MM_l4_ap1246 ImPPGsunproms Ps6.jpg (263.32 KiB) Viewed 929 times
SS60DS full disk proms 20-6-22 9-35am.jpg
SS60DS full disk proms 20-6-22 9-35am.jpg (237.3 KiB) Viewed 929 times
093419_ZWO ASI174MM_l4_ap1246 ImPPGsurface Ps6RGB.jpg
093419_ZWO ASI174MM_l4_ap1246 ImPPGsurface Ps6RGB.jpg (341.66 KiB) Viewed 929 times
093419_ZWO ASI174MM_l4_ap1246 ImPPGsunproms Ps6RGB.jpg