A question about oversampling with the Quark

this is the main message area for anything solar :)
HAL
Ohhhhhh My!
Ohhhhhh My!

A question about oversampling with the Quark

Post by HAL »

Sorry for my millions of newbie Quark user questions. I plan to take it out for first light tomorrow weather permitting.

I am using it with a Skywatcher 80ED (focal length = 800 mm) and a ZWO ASI174MM (pixel size = 5.86 µm). I know that the Quark has an internal 4.2x Barlow which seems very big to me. Crunching the numbers tells me that I will be oversampling by quite a lot. The ideal focal length for this camera/aperture/wavelength comes out as 1429 mm and the focal length of the system with the integrated Barlow will be 3360mm.

Any thoughts? I feel like a lot of people's set-ups are going to end up oversampling? Does it really matter? Is everyone using a focal reducer?

Thank you to anyone who can help with my confusion!

Alto
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Re: A question about oversampling with the Quark

Post by Alto »

Watching with interest. :geek:

I'm torn between an f11 or an f5.6 as the 'scope. I see the Quark leaflet gives a 'scope range of f4 to f9. I'm not necessarily interested in FDs but I'm sure I've seen longer scopes used than f9....?

I guess if I use the f11 it's possible with a ZWO 174, perhaps binned 2*2.
But nothing's perfect, just the best one can do!?

Seeing rules, though!

Call me Geoff.

I do what I do because I want to, and because I can....

Doesn't mean I know what I'm doing, though!
Alto
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Post by Alto »

Meanwhile Cloud rules!

Call me Geoff.

marktownley
Librarian
Librarian

Post by marktownley »

There is a little oversampling with this system, but if the seeing is supporting the 80mm aperture you should be fine, 80mm in Ha you should be fine with seeing most of the time.

If the seeing does not support the aperture try a 0.5x reducer on the nose of the camera.