Intes MCT180 solar use?

Frankenscope? Let's see it!***be advised that NOTHING in this forum has been safety tested and you are reading and using these posts at your own peril. blah, blah, blah... dont mess around with your eyesight when it comes to solar astronomy. Use appropriate filtration at all times...
Sergio Alessandrelli
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Intes MCT180 solar use?

Post by Sergio Alessandrelli »

Hi to all

After some research I was able to found a second hand Intes Italia 7" MCT 180/1800 ota, to use it as deep sky/planetary visual telescope in my exits ad to take some deep sky pictures.
Now I adapted the 135mm Baader D-ERF I use with a WO FLT132 for the H-alpha. Resolution and contrast is lower than in the APO FLT132, but it is obvious because of the large obstruction resulting by the secondary mirror and the telescope diameter reduces at about 132mm by the ERF free diameter.
If possible, in the future, I'd like to go to a larger diameter solar telescope, but I'm not sure a 150mm acro/apo lens could provide so much better results for the cost. Even larger acromatic lens like a 200/230 are not for me (too long OTA, require heavy mount), and triband SCTs are too long focal length and ultra specialized OTA.

So... I could buy a Baader D-ERF 180mm to use the Intes full aperture.
What do you think about that? Could an MCT 180 f/10 with a full aperture D-ERF produce better results than my APO 132mm to justify the effort to buy a large D-ERF?