Tactiles for blind/visually impaired children project

this is the main message area for anything solar :)
Izzie
The Sun?
The Sun?

Tactiles for blind/visually impaired children project

Post by Izzie »

Hello everyone,

I am new to the Solarchatforum, so apologies if it feels that I am dumping this topic upon you without any prewarning. I am a keen solar astronomer but mostly, a STEM ambassador organising outreach events in schools or for public.

Stephen has messaged me after your meeting, telling me about the solar classification project which is very interesting – hence me signing up to the forum. He was asking about my project which I started pre Covid which unfortunately died a slow death due to school closures and me reaching my limits with technology. I am also not very active on social media and quite shy but after Stephen’s message, I decided to pluck my courage together and create this thread and see if there is any interest for people to participate.

What is the project about?

I would like to create tactiles for blind and/or visually impaired children to learn about the Sun.

I met numerous blind/visually impaired children in the mainstream school and felt sad that I couldn’t help them more understand. Often I wasn’t even informed of any pupils being blind and felt fairly stupid doing my talk using many images, whilst they quietly sat and just accepted that they could not follow or understand what I was saying. I started creating some individual ‘gadgets’ in the hope they could follow my talk. It was always well received, and kids wanted to keep these items. I learnt that there could be done an awful lot more for these kids. They all seemed genuinely interested in astronomy.

Trying to keep it short. I met a couple of times with the Head Teacher for the Royal Blind School in Edinburgh. She was really interested as were some local politicians responsible for Education (South and East Ayrshire).