40mm Lunt front mount mod

Frankenscope? Let's see it!***be advised that NOTHING in this forum has been safety tested and you are reading and using these posts at your own peril. blah, blah, blah... dont mess around with your eyesight when it comes to solar astronomy. Use appropriate filtration at all times...
DavidP
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

40mm Lunt front mount mod

Post by DavidP »

Hi all. I am considering a mod to be used with my 150 mm F/10 with a DERF and or a 9.25” Tri-band. I am considering using a Lunt 40 mm front mount Rafcamera adapter. I have never done a mod, but have a lot of experience building telescopes. I would appreciate any advice and direction or experience.
Last edited by DavidP on Thu Mar 16, 2023 2:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

marktownley
Librarian
Librarian

Re: PST vs Lunt front mount mod

Post by marktownley »

Assuming you are going to use it rear mounted, you will need the etalon, adapter, TZ3 and blocking filter.

http://brierleyhillsolar.blogspot.co.uk/
Solar images, a collection of all the most up to date live solar data on the web, imaging & processing tutorials - please take a look!
Sebastien Lebouc
Oh, I get it now!
Oh, I get it now!

Post by Sebastien Lebouc »

20220911_182319.jpg
20220911_182319.jpg (2.18 MiB) Viewed 2026 times
C9 with ERF coating on schmidt plate.
Beloptik TZ3, lunt50 front body, BF30 then lunt35.
20220917_225643.jpg
20220917_225643.jpg (1.96 MiB) Viewed 2026 times
lunt 35 in homemade aluminium body
20220917_225759 (1).jpg
20220917_225759 (1).jpg (1.86 MiB) Viewed 2026 times
20220915_113504 (1).jpg
20220915_113504 (1).jpg (2.08 MiB) Viewed 2026 times
it performs also with AP130 refractor!

some key points:
telecentric beam at least FD 30, more is better, etalon contrast increases drastically.
in double stack, the more distance between etalons, the less ghost images. (I put the BF30 between)