Celestron 10x42 solar binoculars

Use this section to discuss "standard" Baader/Coronado/ Lunt SolarView/ Daystar, etc… filters, cameras and scopes. No mods, just questions/ answers and reviews.
Rob63
Im an EXPERT!
Im an EXPERT!

Celestron 10x42 solar binoculars

Post by Rob63 »

As promised, here is a quick review of my newly arrived Celestron Eclipsmart 10x42 Solar bins (following from topic viewtopic.php?t=40471 ).

Before I start I should point out that, as a keen wildlife watcher I am used to high quality binoculars my current favourites are a pair of Hawke Frontier ED-X 42mm which are five times the price of these Celestrons so they are never going to live up to that standard!

Ordered from Harrison telescopes in the UK for £74 and arrived the next day.

Initial impressions are pretty good, they are Chinese manufactured, Porro prism types and seem reasonably well made for the price with a rubber coated metal (aluminium?) body although a couple of parts feel a bit ‘plasticky’. Weight is 755g and they have a wide range of movement so should fit anyone’s eyes.

The eyecups are just a foldable rubber skirt affair which doesn’t feel that nice compared to “twist-up” types, but then again twist-ups are notorious for failing! I don’t wear glasses so I can’t comment on how they would feel for those that need to wear them.

The filters are very dense and look well up to the job, Interestingly the retaining ring holding the filters in place on the front optics have a thread on the inside, not sure if it is a non-standard size, I measured 43mm with a vernier caliper.

The weather has been poor here so I have only had a couple of brief sessions, but the image is clear and bright (but not too bright). The Solar disc is white and fills about 20% of the full view so it’s a decent size. To my eyes the view has a slight blue-ish hue.
I could easily make out several distinct sunspot groups (AR3296, 7 and friends ) and discern their position and general shape.