Quark Full Disc Refractor

this is the main message area for anything solar :)
Rudi
Oh, I get it now!
Oh, I get it now!

Quark Full Disc Refractor

Post by Rudi »

I'm new to solar h-alpha, just got a Daystar Quark, Chromosphere version.

I own two refractors, an INED70 F420mm f/6 and a TS102ED f/7 refractor, which produces great solar images through the Quark.
Currently, I use my ASI1600MM pro for imaging, but are also seaching for a dedicated solar camera, but that can wait.

However, I would like to have a scope, that could give single-shot full disc images.

I had this TS50 f/3.6 lying in a box, and gave it a shot.
But the focuser mechanism is misserable, and only suited for a guide scope, where focusing is done once.

Here's a test shot I made.

An astro-friend proposed the following scopes.
https://www.teleskop-express.de/de/fern ... ptik-13750
https://www.teleskop-express.de/de/tele ... line-10095
https://www.teleskop-express.de/de/tele ... szug-17474

The second one gives a too tight FOV, so I'm most for the first or last one.
The focuser must be rigid and have a crayford or similar mechanish, that can have a focuser motot fitted eventually.

Any other recomendations will be appreciated.
(My budget isn't unlimited)

/Rudi
marktownley
Librarian
Librarian

Re: Quark Full Disc Refractor

Post by marktownley »

Welcome to the forum!

You could use a reducer with any of the above to increase the fov.

http://brierleyhillsolar.blogspot.co.uk/
Solar images, a collection of all the most up to date live solar data on the web, imaging & processing tutorials - please take a look!
Rudi
Oh, I get it now!
Oh, I get it now!

Post by Rudi »

marktownley wrote: Wed May 22, 2024 5:36 am Welcome to the forum!

You could use a reducer with any of the above to increase the fov.
Yes, I also thought of that, considered a cheap omegon 0.5 reducer. But how will it affect the image quality?
The omegon reducer is cheap, so I guess, it is worth a try.

/Rudi
Rudi
Oh, I get it now!